News & Articles

New Zealand Now a Treaty Country

Now eligible for E-1 and E-2 Visas


As of August 1, 2018, the President signed into law S. 2245, the “Knowledgeable Innovators and Worthy Investors Act” or the “KIWI Act,” making nationals of New Zealand eligible to apply for E-1 and E-2 treaty trader and investor visas. This benefit means that New Zealand joins neighboring countries such as Australia as a Treaty Country and New Zealand nationals may apply for E-1 and E-2 visas. Due to the recent enactment of this law, as of August 6, 2018, the State Department has not yet updated its Treaty Countries chart to include New Zealand.

Please contact the immigration attorneys at Ryan Swanson if you have any questions regarding applying for an E-1 or E-2 visa.


Jen Chen can be reached at 206.654.2250 or 
Marsha Mavunkel can be reached at 206.654.2253 or
Amy Royalty can be reached at 206-654-2260 or
Joel Paget can be reached at 206.654.2215 or
Janet Cheetham can be reached at 206.654.2235 or

This message has been released by the Immigration Group at Ryan, Swanson & Cleveland, PLLC to advise of recent developments in the law. Because each situation is different, this information is intended for general information purposes only and is not intended to provide legal advice on any specific facts and circumstances. Ryan, Swanson & Cleveland, PLLC is a full-service law firm located in Seattle, Washington.

Have Questions?

Get in touch today.