News & Articles

President Trump Signs Proclamation Suspending Immigrant Visa Issuance for Six Countries

Updated on 2/4/2020

On January 31, 2020, the Trump administration announced a new presidential proclamation restricting travel and immigrant visa issuance for six additional countries.  Nationals of Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar (Burma), Nigeria, Sudan, and Tanzania will be restricted from obtaining immigrant visas, with certain exceptions. This restriction is in addition to the seven countries listed in the travel ban currently in effect, which includes Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria, Yemen, Venezuela, and North Korea. For more information and background on the original travel ban, please refer to our prior posted article.  Many of the visa restrictions vary by country, and the new rules limit issuance of certain immigrant visas.

The new proclamation, which will take effect on Friday, February 21, 2020, does not apply to nonimmigrant visas or to individuals who have already been granted a valid immigrant visa prior to the effective date.

  • Foreign nationals from Burma (Myanmar), Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, and Nigeria, will not be issued immigrant visas, with an exception for Special Immigrants whose eligibility is based on having provided assistance to the United States Government.
  • Foreign nationals from Sudan and Tanzania will no longer be issued Diversity Lottery immigrant visas after February 21, 2020.

Individuals who may be impacted by this proclamation should consult with an experienced immigration attorney. Please contact the immigration attorneys at Ryan, Swanson & Cleveland if you have any questions or concerns regarding your ability to travel to or from the United States.

Marsha Mavunkel can be reached at [email protected].
Amy Royalty can be reached at [email protected].
Jen Chen can be reached at [email protected].
Cody Nunn can be reached at [email protected].
Janet Cheetham can be reached at [email protected].
Joel Paget can be reached at [email protected].

This message has been released by the Immigration Group at Ryan, Swanson & Cleveland, PLLC to advise of recent developments in the law. Because each situation is different, this information is intended for general information purposes only and is not intended to provide legal advice on any specific facts and circumstances. Ryan, Swanson & Cleveland, PLLC is a full-service law firm located in Seattle, Washington.

Have Questions?

Get in touch today.