News & Articles

REAL ID Driver's Licenses - Apply Now and Beat the Rush

Published on October 17, 2018

Beginning July 2018, Washington State started marking its standard driver’s license and ID cards as noncompliant with federal requirements. By this month, October 2018, the Washington State Department of Licensing expected to be in full compliance with the law, and it will apply for certification from the Department of Homeland Security. On October 1, 2020, after REAL ID certification is granted, Washington residents flying domestically or accessing some federal facilities will need to have an enhanced Washington State driver’s license, a U.S. passport, permanent residency card, Trusted Traveler document, or a driver’s license issued by another state in compliance with the Real ID Act.

An added benefit of obtaining the enhanced Washington State driver’s license is that it can be used as a substitute for a U.S. passport for the purposes of traveling to and from Canada.

Our advice is to apply for a REAL ID, enhanced Washington State Driver’s License as soon as an appointment is available so you beat the rush and do not forget to do it.  There is nothing like missing an airline flight because you do not have the proper identification.  Please the Ryan Swanson Immigration Group with questions.

 

Joel Paget can be reached at paget@ryanlaw.com.
Marsha Mavunkel can be reached at mavunkel@ryanlaw.com.
Janet Cheetham can be reached at cheetham@ryanlaw.com.
Amy Royalty can be reached at royalty@ryanlaw.com.
Jen Chen can be reached at chen@ryanlaw.com.
Cody Nunn can be reached at nunn@ryanlaw.com






This message has been released by the Immigration Group at Ryan, Swanson & Cleveland, PLLC to advise of recent developments in the law. Because each situation is different, this information is intended for general information purposes only and is not intended to provide legal advice on any specific facts and circumstances. Ryan, Swanson & Cleveland, PLLC is a full-service law firm located in Seattle, Washington.

Have Questions?

Get in touch today.